Illinois Learning Standards

The Illinois Learning Standards (ILS) define what all students in all Illinois public schools should know and be able to do in the seven core areas as a result of their elementary and secondary schooling.

On June 24, 2010 the Illinois State Board of Education adopted new learning standards (nILS) for Math and English Langauge Arts. On February 27, 2014 the Board adopted new standards for Science. The purpose of these new, more rigorous standards is to better prepare students for college and the workforce.


Grade 1

Grade 2

Grade 3

Grade 4

Grade 5

Grade 6

Grade 7

Grade 8

Grades 9-10

Grades 11-12